Wishing I were at St. Somewhere

It’s been so cold here lately that I’ve found myself thinking about the islands a lot.  Well, it’s not yet time for another vacation, but I need a change in my state of mind.  So, tonight for dinner while physically we were still here in Georgia our taste buds where at a different latitude…

Puerto Rican Shrimp Stuffed Plantains

      onion, peeled and chopped
    1/2    red bell pepper, chopped
    1/2  C chopped cilantro
      cloves garlic, smashed
      very ripe sweet plantains
    Tblsp extra-virgin olive oil
    1/2  tsp crushed red pepper
    oz can tomato sauce
    lb shrimp – peeled, deveined and chopped
1. Using a food processor, puree the onion, bell pepper, cilantro, and garlic.

 2. At one end of each plantain on the concave side make a V-shaped incision; wrap with a damp paper towel. Microwave at high heat for about 10 minutes. Check for doneness; the flesh should look cooked, not starchy. Otherwise, cook in 30-second increments until done.

3. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, heat the olive oil and crushed red pepper over medium-high heat. Stir in the onion mixture and tomato sauce and simmer for 2 minutes. Stir in the shrimp, season with salt and black pepper and cook until opaque, about 5 minutes.

 4. Peel off the flap from each plantain. Halve lengthwise, being careful not to cut through to the other side. Push aside the 2 halves, forming a trench. Spoon in the shrimp mixture.

And I washed it down with a Ting soda.    Ahh, refreshing!

2 comments so far

  1. Kathy Carell on

    Looks yummy. Sounds yummy! I certainly wish I were heading for St. Somewhere but I like the idea of your taste buds escaping.

    Here’s a thought: Decorate your place like an Island Bar, Turn on Radio Margaritaville (or Beachfront Radio) and enjoy some Caribbean Cuisine. Oh and don’t forget to turn up your thermostat so you aren’t freezing in your sarong and flip flops (or whatever island attire you are wearing).

    If you put yourself in the right state of mind it’s amazing how good you will feel. Sounds crazy, huh?

    Just a thought. We have a Cuban restaurant in the area and I’m thinking maybe I should “escape” there for a night.

    I enjoy your posts Mary. See ya next year in Vegas!

  2. Peter & Mary on

    I like how you took it to a whole other level by turning my house into a tiki bar!

    Next year? It better be this year in Vegas… 9 months away and yes I’m counting! The new tour is already under way. Fins up!


Leave a Reply

